Movie Poster Design (part 1)

So I’m working on some a movie poster design for a new film that is written and directed by my friend Diliana. I’m having fun doing some research on movie posters, so I wanted to share some of my favorites.

Here are the top rated posters on tccandler.com:

#1:The Sin of Nora Moran (Beautiful traditional art)

#2:American Beauty (classic w/the rose – provacative)

#6 – Lord of War (Cool effect where his face is made of bullets)

#7 – The secretary (Do you think that this is just in the top 10 because she is a hot girl bending over?)

#9: Straw Dogs (I love the close cropped photo. The broken glasses and dramatic stare convey he emotion in the film)

#10: Hard Candy (Good use of white space and drama. The image is emotional and compelling.)

#25: Unfaithful (Is it the poster or the movie that compells me to post this one? The photo on the poster is cropped so appropriately)

#28: Identity (Creative & Interesting. You want to take a closer look…)

#32: Angela (Dramatic sillouettes and shadows. Also using typography!)

#60: Paris, Je’Taime (Artsy – Eiffel Towers in the heart- Text running around the edge like a border.)

#79 – Silence of the Lambs (intruiging)

#85 – Premonition (This reminds me of the typography inspiration I posted last week. Creative and subtle. Not sure it clearly represents the move, but it’s interesting all the same.)

#87: Adaptation (Notice the font. I also notice that the main text is the title and the 3 main actors. Clearly that’s what they are using to sell the film.)

#94: Stalker (Hand-drawn & artsy. love it)

There is another website called Internet Movie Posters.com which give annual “awards” to the best posters. I’m not sure what their parameters are, but it is a good source to find movie posters.

I like:

Madea’s Family Reunion – cute, tag line is classic, but i guess it works!

Bobby – historical

Love Song for Bobby Long: kind of cheesy but drama, drama, drama

I found a Funny or Die movie on: Posterwire.com making fun of the blockbuster posters that always show the actors heads floating in space.Very Funny! Watch the Video!

Example:

I’ll doing more research this week so I’ll be posting my findings and my new movie poster sketches!

Leave a Reply

