Typography with Emotion

Last night I went to the candlelight vigil for a man named Luis Santos who was murdered on Saturday at San Diego State University. I had only met Santos on a few occasion, but I knew his best friends which were my neighbors for 2 years. I’m so confused at how this could happen. It’s not Compton. It’s San Diego. I graduated from SDSU and I spent many nights strolling along that same street. It’s well-lit, right in front of the state-of-the-art gym and directly across from the police station. Just a block from the fraternity and sorority houses which always have events on weekends… hundreds of students hang out here. Luis and 3 other friends got in an argument with 4 other guys. Luis and his friends were stabbed and Luis died on the scene. Last night, friends and family gathered at the location of the incident bringing candles, flowers and posters in memory of Luis. There was also a slide-show of all of the great times… it was all very emotional. It’s so unfortunate that this mans’ life had to be cut short. FOR NO REASON. What is wrong with the world? My thoughts are with Luis’ close friends and family.

I came home to sketch out my thoughts. This led me to some of my favorite quotes.

“Be the change you want to see in the world.” – Gandhi

“If your going through hell, keep going.” – Winston Churchill

This led me to explore some other graphic designers that use powerful typography.

Si Scott Design –  AMAZING work and it is all HAND-DRAWN. Holla to the traditional artists.

I also found a cool typography poster on Smashing Magazine Blog:

MrGraphicsGuy

Toko

Craig Ward

Phil Chang

Want to make your own font? Read how: ilovetypography.com – making your own font

Plenty of t-shirts say stupid things, but if you’re trying to say something positive check out Blend Apparel.

2 thoughts on “Typography with Emotion

  1. I also attended the candlelight vigil for Lu. May he R.I.P. Lu was a great guy and always had the ability to make you laugh, regardless of the current situation. He will be missed and is loved my many.

Leave a Reply

