karma, hiking, fireworks & Vegas

I’m a strong believer in karma. When I see karma work like it should I can’t help but smile to myself and know that all is right in the world.

Lets define karma. Karma is not fate or predestination. In the law of karma, if we do a wholesome action, eventually we will get a wholesome fruit, and if we do an unwholesome action eventually we will get an unwholesome, painful result. It is not unconscious or involuntary action. It is an intentional, conscious, deliberate, willful action.

Well, how does this intentional action determine our situation? It is because every action must have a reaction, an effect. The great physicist Newton formulated the law which states that every action must have an equal and opposite reaction.

Basically, like my mom always said, “treat people how you want to be treated.” Be good to people and they will be good back to you.

This week has been a spiritual cleansing of my soul. I know I probably sound like a tree-huggin hippie, but events of the past week have brought more peace to mind than most. This weekend, I traded in my cell phone and computer for some sneakers and a backpack. Z and I skipped out of sunny san dog seeking the peace and quiet of Utah, specifically Zion National Park. We did the most wicked hike of my life called “Angels Landing.” Google it for more insane photos. If my mom sees these I think she’d kill me 🙂

Of course we stopped in Vegas for a night of dancing and football, 2 buffets in less than 24 hours, $116 dollars worth of fireworks and finished off with one final buffet for the road at Whiskey Petes and made our way back to SD.

It was the getaway I needed to recharge for the week.

peace,

michelle

Leave a Reply

