“The Inspiration for Inspiration” from our guest: Rachel Cobb

We are going to have a guest blogger each week and we are excited to announce this week’s guest: Rachel Cobb!

Rachel Cobb is an excellent designer who has been working with Collar Free for about 6 months now.
Two of her shirts have won our weekly design contest and are now for sale at collarfree.com!

“Freedom”“Linear Garden”

You can see more of her Collar Free designs on her profile. Support Rachel and vote for her designs on Collar Free and buy a few to sport around town! Without further ado…

__________________________________________________________

I’ve been out of college for well over a year and I’m a graphic designer and sign shop manager for CASAIC Printing. Lately that means I might get to design a few things here or there, but mostly (or at least until they can hire someone new) I’m running large-format printers, cutting vinyl and wrapping vehicles, among other things.

But enough about me, the real reason I’m here is to talk about inspiration. I feel as if all art should have some type of inspiration. Art for the sake of art isn’t enough for me. I want to connect with it and be inspired by what inspired it. Inspiration, for me, comes from the random pieces of life that pass in front you. Whether it be a quote from something famous (or just known to you), a piece of wrapping paper, the twisting branches of a tree, the sounds of a busy street… All life is an inspiration, you just have to recognize it when it’s there. So here are my 5 tips for getting inspired and keeping that inspiration thriving.

1. Start a creative journal or collection.
2. Visit a museum, local art gallery, or the art section of the bookstore. (see: taschen.com, rockpub.com)


3. Take a walk, without the iPod and observe your surroundings
4. Talk to people that are creative about what inspires them
5. Surf the web, stock photography sites, blogs, random links…
Ideas come from all kinds of places. Here are a few example of regular websites that could spark inspiration.

Starbucks

Tazo Tea

As for random links, check out this HOW design article for more ways to be inspired.

So until next time I’m inspired to inspire the world with just a random piece of me.

Rachel

rachelecobb.com

3 thoughts on ““The Inspiration for Inspiration” from our guest: Rachel Cobb

  1. Great article Rachel, i love finding inspiration in the random things in life. Can’t wait to hear more from you!

    -michelle

  2. Rachel, I love the post! I am always wanting to know where/how artists are inspired so it’s great to know! It’s been great getting to know more about you and I hope that LA is hanging in there through Gustav. Know that we’re thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

